Mobile Menu

Advancement Trail

Advancement Report Form


Cub Scout Advancement

On the advancement trail, a Cub Scout progresses from rank to rank. The first rank every boy earns is Bobcat; then he strives to earn Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos ranks depending on his grade. His handbook is the best resource for understanding what achievements he can and should work towards.  A Cub Scout of any age can learn new skills, become a better scholar, learn sportsmanship, and have a lot of fun while also earning recognition through the Academics and Sports Program. By completing certain requirements in areas that interest him, a Scout can earn belt loops and/or sports pins to wear on his uniform. The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light. Earning this prepares a Webelos Scout to become a Boy Scout. Learn more on our national site.

Boy Scout Advancement

Advancement is one of the most important parts of the Boy Scouting program. A young man progresses from rank to rank: Scout, Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle. Along the journey he learns life skills through merit badges and service projects. Each achievement develops character and builds self confidence.  Learn more on our national site.

Here’s a complete list of 2017 Boy Scout requirement changes

Venturing Advancement/Recognition

The Venturing program recently introduced a new awards program that includes Venturing, Discovery, Pathfinder and Summit awards. Venturers may also earn significant awards such as RangerQuestTRUST, and the Sea Scouting Quartermaster awards. Learn more at our national site.