Mobile Menu

Catholic Scouting

A Scout is reverent: 
He is reverent toward God. He is faithful in his religious duties and respects the convictions of others in matters of custom and religion.

The Greater St. Louis Area Council serves the youths of four dioceses. Each diocese administers and supports its own Scouting committees.

Archdiocese of St. Louis

Includes the Missouri counties of Franklin, Jefferson, Lincoln, Perry, St. Charles, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Warren and Washington, and the city of St. Louis.

For the best up to date news on the Catholic Committee on Scouting programs, visit the Catholic Youth Apostolate website at

Diocese of Belleville

Includes the Illinois counties of Alexander, Franklin, Hamilton, Jackson, Johnson, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, Union and Williamson.

Excellent programs and workshops for the Parvuli Dei, Ad Altare Dei, and Pope Pius XII awards. Visit for news and events.

Diocese of Springfield-Cape Girardeau

Includes the Missouri counties of Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Dunklin, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Stoddard and Wayne.

Diocese of Jefferson City

Includes the Missouri county of Crawford.


Cub Scout Religious Emblems
Light of Christ Catholic Tigers and Wolves
Parvuli Dei Catholic Bears and Webelos


Boy Scout and Venturing Religious Emblems
Ad Altare Dei -Roman Catholic Boy Scout
-Completed sixth grade
-Active at least six months in troop
Light is Life -Eastern Catholic Boy Scout
-Completed sixth grade
-Active at least six months in troop
-Younger than 18 years
Pope Pius XII -Catholic Boy Scouts and Venturers
-Started the ninth grade
-Younger than 21 years