Mobile Menu

BSA Announces Older Youth Program Name

May 02, 2018

Earlier today, the Boy Scouts of America announced Scouts BSA as the new program name for older youth ages 11-17. Here is some clarification on what’s changing, and more importantly, what’s not changing.

First, the Boy Scouts of America is NOT changing the name of the organization. We still are, and will continue to be called, the Boy Scouts of America. However, the BSA did reveal on May 2 that the new name for the Boy Scout program, for girls and boys ages 11-17, will be called Scouts BSA. Just like Cub Scouts, Venturing, Sea Scouting and Exploring are programs under the Boy Scouts of America, Scouts BSA is another program under the Boy Scouts of America umbrella.

Scouts BSA

This fall, girls ages 6-10 can join the Cub Scout program. Then, beginning February 2019, girls ages 11-17 can join the Boy Scouts of America’s Scouts BSA program. The program will be the same curriculum offered in what used to be called the Boy Scout program and allows girls and boys to earn the highest rank of Eagle Scout.

Troops within the Scouts BSA program will be single gender— either all-girl troops or all-boy troops. Chartered Organizations can continue to decide which programs best serve the needs of their community which means the chartered organization can continue to offer Scouting for boys, or they may choose to add a unit for girls.

The Boy Scouts of America has many helpful resources, FAQ, infographics and more about Family Scouting at

Family Scouting Resources >>>