Home   >   Advancement & Awards   >   Youth Awards

Besides the advancement awards, Scouts may earn other individual awards. For a complete list of all awards within the Scouting, visit Awards Central.

Religious Emblems
To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, many religious groups have programs for young people to earn a religious emblem. Scouting approves of these programs and allows the religious emblems to be worn on the official uniform.

For a list of emblems programs, and a list of awards provided by each faith or religious group, see the Religious Emblems Programs page. To find the nearest location to earn the award for your faith click here .

Complete Angler Award
The Complete Angler Recognition was established by the BSA National Fishing Task Force in October 2014 for the purpose of providing and recognizing a well-rounded youth angler within Scouting. Scouts who have earned the three fishing-related merit badges— Fishing, Fly-Fishing, and Fish and Wildlife Management—can be recognized as a BSA Complete Angler. Learn more here.

Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award
Tiger Cubs, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts, and Webelos Scouts may earn the Cub Scout Outdoor Activity Award. This award recognizes the Scout for taking part in outdoor recreation and conservation projects. In many cases, you can earn this award while doing other Scouting activities. Click here for more information about this award.

Scouting’s Outdoor Ethics Awareness and Action Awards
Outdoor Ethics Awareness (Formerly Leave No Trace) is a plan that helps people take better care of the environment and protect it for future generations. All Scouting programs (Cub Scout, Scouts BSA, Venturing) are able to work towards this award. Click here for more information.

For Requirement No. 4 for the Cub Scout Outdoor Ethics Awareness Award, you can contact Mike Herries at mdherries@att.net.

50th Anniversary Environment Protection Agency Award

The objective of the EPA award is to combine a variety of disciplines to challenge and educate youth; introduce them to the breadth of the EPA’s involvement in environmental protection and conservation; and encourage them to research, investigate, experiment, demonstrate, survey, and study air pollution, water pollution, solid and hazardous waste, and ocean dumping.

Click here for more information.

Emergency Preparedness Award
“Emergency preparedness” means being ready for all kinds of emergencies. It means you’re ready and able to help in times of trouble to save lives and property and to help a community—or even a nation—get back to normal after a disaster happens. To encourage Scouts of all ages to be prepared for emergencies, the BSA has approved an Emergency Preparedness Award program for members of all ages. To learn more about the award requirements and to download an application form, visit the Emergency Preparedness Award page.

World Conservation Award
To encourage all youth members to think globally and act locally to preserve and improve our environment. Involves advancement and project work.

Apply for the World Conservation Award here.


Visit the Lifesaving and Meritorious Action Awards page for more information.

Honor Medal With Crossed Palms
The Honor Medal With Crossed Palms may be awarded in exceptional cases to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated unusual heroism and extraordinary skill or resourcefulness in saving or attempting to save a life at extreme risk to self.

Honor Medal
The Honor Medal may be awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has demonstrated unusual heroism and skill in saving or attempting to save a life at considerable risk to self.


Medal of Merit
The Medal of Merit may be awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has performed some outstanding act of service of a rare or exceptional character that reflects an uncommon degree of concern for the well-being of others.

National Certificate of Merit
The National Certificate of Merit may be awarded to a youth member or adult leader who has performed a significant act of service that is deserving of special national recognition.


Distinguished Conservation Service Award
This award program was created to recognize those who have made significant contributions to conservation. Learn more.

Greater St. Louis Area Council,  Distinguished Conservation Service Award Program Advisers: 

Accessibility Toolbar